New York Law Softening Cannabis Penalties Is Now In Effect

The maximum penalty is now $50 for possessing less than an oz of cannabis

A New York state law softens penalties for possessing small amounts of marijuana and creates a process for erasing certain past offenses.

The maximum penalty is now $50 for possessing less than an ounce of pot. The law took effect Wednesday.

It also turns an unlawful marijuana possession statute into a violation similar to a traffic ticket, instead of a criminal charge.

Records tied to low-level marijuana cases will be automatically sealed under the law.

To Read The Rest Of This Article On MRR, Click Here

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

CHAMPS Smoke Shop Report, or ‘CSS’, online source for the updates and innovations on the smoke shop scene. News and information are geared strictly to accessories retail channels, with distribution limited to retailers that Smoke Shop products and wholesalers.


Stay informed with the most up-to-date industry news to help you grow your business: subscribe to our newsletter below!

To Top