“It’s very hard to tell what the consumer’s going to do”
Starting on Monday, May 18, the sale of flavored vape products will be illegal in New York State, as well as the sale of all tobacco products in pharmacies.
Starting Monday, if a retailer is caught selling flavored vaping products, they will face a fine of up to $100 for each item they have.
While advocates of the law say it’ll protect children and young adults in New York State, Mike Kruger, Capital District Director of New York State Vapor Association says it’s going to crush an industry that employs thousands across the state, while handing a win to Big Tobacco.
“It’s very hard to tell what the consumer’s going to do. I can tell you, over the past 45 days since we’ve been waiting on this to go into effect,” Kruger says, “I’ve had a lot of customers tell me that they’re going to eventually go back to smoking.”
To Read The Rest Of This Article On ABC, Click Here